2011 Season

The award-winning Lake Superior Chamber Orchestra is proud to announce our Summer 2011 25th Anniversary Season!   We will be celebrating our twenty-fifth year under the artistic direction of conductor Warren Friesen.  Three times we have received the American Society of  Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) award for adventurous  programming, and our upcoming season will continue this exciting  tradition of innovative programming and talented guest artists.

Our two June concerts will be held in the Sacred Heart Music Center in Duluth. The following three concerts of our series will be held on Wednesday evenings  at Weber Music Hall on the campus of the University of Minnesota-Duluth.

Concerts begin at 7:30 pm and are followed by a  reception with light refreshments and a chance to mingle with the  musicians, conductor and LSCO patrons and friends.  Please join us  and experience the Northland’s Summer Musical Gem!


JUNE 22  7:30 pm Sacred Heart Music Center
Kip Jones, violin and Karl Doty, double bass

Kip Jones – Three Views of Dongaksan: A Double Concerto for Violin and Double Bass (2011)
J.S. Bach – Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048 (1721)
W.A. Mozart – Adagio and Fugue in C Minor, K. 546 (1788)
Gustav Holst – St. Paul’s Suite, Op.29 No.2 (1913)
Aaron Jay Kernis – Musica Celestis (1990)
Kurt Atterberg – Suite No. 3 for violin, viola and string orchestra, Op. 19 No.1 (1917)


JUNE 29  7:30 pm Sacred Heart Music Center
Sarah Schmalenberger and Tyler Kaiser, soloists. Rebecca Katz Harwood & Jeffery Peterson, choreographers.

Tyler Kaiser – Concerto for Horn & Tenor Banjo (2011)
Ralph Vaughan Williams – Job: A Masque for Dancing (1931).
J. Haydn – Overture to La Fedelta Premiata (1782)
Arvo Pärt – Festina Lente for string orchestra and harp (1988)


JULY 13  7:30 pm Weber Music Hall, UMD
De Ann Letourneau, violin soloist

Greg K. Moore – [a new composition]
Chen Yi – Chinese Folk Dance Suite (2001)
Jules Massenet – Meditation from Thaïs (1894)
Emmanuel Chabrier – Suite Pastorale (1888)
Aulis Sallinen – Some Aspects of Peltoniemi Hintrik’s Funeral March (1969)


JULY 20  7:30 pm Weber Music Hall, UMD
Alexander Sandor, piano soloist

Tim Goplerud – Prelude, Prophecy and a Prayer (2011)
W.A. Mozart – Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K. 466 (1785)
Richard Yardumian – Cantus animae et cordis (1955)
Edvard Grieg – Holberg Suite (1884)


JULY 27  7:30 pm Weber Music Hall, UMD
Theodore Schoen, clarinet soloist. Lee Zimmerman, painter.

Bradley Bombardier – XXV (2011)
Scott McAllister – X-Concerto for Clarinet and Strings
Aaron Copland – Appalachian Spring (1944)
Antonín Dvořák – Serenade for Strings in E major, Op. 22 (1875)